About us
Contact us


Downtown Little Rock - It feels like home!


Downtown Little Rock CDC Announces Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony to Celebrate UA Fay Jones School of Architecture’s
2009-2010 Design/Build Home

Governor Beebe to Cut Ribbon on Sustainable Modular Home in Little Rock’s Historic Pettaway Neighborhood 

WHO:                          The Downtown Little Rock Community Development Corporation and the Fay Jones School of Architecture, University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

WHAT:                       Ribbon-cutting ceremony for Little Rock’s first Design/Build home by students in
                                  the University of Arkansas’ Fay Jones School of Architecture, led by Associate
                                  Professor Michael Hughes 

WHEN:                       10:00 a.m., Friday, May 7, 2010 

WHERE:                     1519 S. Commerce Street, Little Rock 

LITTLE ROCK, AR—The Downtown Little Rock Community Development Corporation is pleased to announce a ribbon-cutting ceremony at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, May 7 for the 2009-2010 University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture Design/Build home, located at 1519 S. Commerce St. in downtown Little Rock’s Pettaway neighborhood. 

“We’re proud to be a part of this innovative and beautifully-designed project,” said Scott Grummer, Executive Director of the Downtown Little Rock CDC.  “We see this collaboration as a catalyst for a new approach to urban infill, one that incorporates not only affordability, but quality, sustainability, and thoughtful design.” 

Governor Mike Beebe is scheduled to be on hand to offer a few remarks, and to assist in the ribbon-cutting.  Several other city and state officials, as well as officials from the University are expected to attend the event, including Little Rock Mayor Mark Stodola, State Land Commissioner Mark Wilcox, University of Arkansas Chancellor G. David Gearhart, and Dean Jeff Shannon of the Fay Jones School of Architecture. 

“We’re delighted that Governor Beebe has agreed to join our ceremony.  He has expressed a commitment to sustainable economic development, and I can’t think of a project that better exemplifies the future of Arkansas’ green economy than this one,” Grummer said. 

The 1,200 square foot home was designed and constructed by 4th and 5th year students, under the instruction of Associate Professor Michael Hughes.  This home was constructed in modules at a warehouse in Fayetteville.  Upon its completion in mid-April, the units were shipped to the site and assembled.  The students have spent the majority of the time since the installation in Little Rock, finishing the home and preparing it for its new owners.  This home is part of a collaborative effort to revitalize the South Main neighborhood, and showcases materials and construction alternatives for affordable, energy-efficient and sustainable housing in inner-city Little Rock. 

About the Fay Jones School of Architecture
The Fay Jones School of Architecture at the University of Arkansas began in 1946-47 as architecture courses within the College of Engineering. In 1974, the program became a school, with Fay Jones serving as the first dean. In 2009, the school was renamed the Fay Jones School of Architecture, at the request of Don and Ellen Edmondson, former clients of Jones’, who made a $10 million planned gift. 

For more information on the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture, contact Associate Professor Michael Hughes, at mlhughes@uark.edu, (479) 575-7297. 

About the Design/Build Program
The Downtown Little Rock project in historic Pettaway neighborhood has been designed, and is being constructed by, 4th and 5th year students in the Fay Jones School of Architecture under the direction of Associate Professor Michael Hughes.  Photos of the students’ progress are available on the official project blog, www.arkdb.blogspot.com.   

Other student projects since the mid-1990s have included a home for Habitat for Humanity in Fayetteville; several projects at Camp Aldersgate, a Little Rock camp for children with disabilities; and rehabilitation of a New Orleans restaurant damaged by Hurricane Katrina. 

The Downtown Little Rock CDC salutes the vision, talent, and hard work of the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture’s 2009-2010 Design/Build Team. Congratulations on your achievement, and thank you for your innovative, beautiful, and
enduring contribution to our community.

Associate Professor Michael Hughes

Craig Peacock

Lianne Collier

Jack Doherty

Kevin Hayre

Kelly Jackson

Nick Walker

Brad West

Ryan Wojcicki

Ben Bendall

Elizabeth Beall

Stephanie Foster

James Swann

Addison Bliss

Josh Matthews

Chase Pitner

Jerome Tomlin



The Downtown Little Rock Community Development Corporation and the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture wish to acknowledge the generous contributions of the following sponsors, supporters, and volunteers of the 2009-2010 Design/Build Project:

ABC-Central Block and Brick

ACE Glass

Ash Grove Packaging

Arkansas Rebar Inc.

Barbee Cranes + Rigging

Brundage-Bone Concrete Pumping

Darragh Company

Hugg & Hall

Meeks Lumber

Nabholz Construction

Neighborhood Assistance Corporation of America (NACA)

Paul Page Dwellings, LLC

Razorback Concrete Inc.

Gill Elrod Ragon Owen & Sherman, P.A.

Windsor Windows & Doors

Friends and Families of the Design/Build Students

The residents of the Historic Pettaway Neighborhood


Arkansas Studies Institute

Agipito Sanchez

Bank of the Ozarks

BioBased Insulation

Central Arkansas Water

City of Little Rock

City of Fayetteville

Clint Bailey, Harris Architects

Cody Farmer, RSC Rental

Commissioner of State Lands

Community Bakery

Rep. Darrin Williams

David Davidian, Ironman Fabrication

David Davies

Deborah Berke, FAIA, LEED AP

Diane Carroll, At Home in Arkansas

Downtown Little Rock Partnership

Downtown Neighborhood Association

First Arkansas Title

U.S. Attorney’s Office

Gil Newnum, Harrison French and Associates

Green Corner Store

Gus Design Cooperative

Heart of the City Coalition

Hum’s Hardware and Rental, Inc.


J. Leon Johnson, Attorney

Jeffrey Sand & Gravel

Joanna Nabholz

June Freeman

L+L Metal Fabrication

Lighthouse Center

Little Rock Wastewater

Macarthur Park Group

Melissa Clark

Michael Ames, Benchmark Framing


Modus Studio, Fayetteville

Mr. Bamboo

Prospect Steel

Pulaski County Circuit Clerk

Rich Brya, 3GD Inc.

Roberts-McNutt Roofing

Smart Structures Distributing

Southside Main Street Project

Troy Osborne, Airtech Heating and Air

University of Arkansas Facilities Management

University of Arkansas Office of the Chancellor

UA Local #155

Village Commons

Peter Waldman, Professor of Architecture, University of Virginia

Witsell, Evans, Rasco Architects

Second Baptist Church, Little Rock

Donna Skulman Consulting




Copyright 2006 Downtown Little Rock Community Development Corporation  All rights reserved  Site Design by Donna Skulman Consulting